Oakland Mayor Libby Schaaf With Ice Cube, LL Cool J, At Big 3, Oracle Arena

Libby Schaaf with Ice Cube and LL Cool J? Wasn’t she with MC Hammer for the Warriors Parade?

Oakland Mayor Libby Schaaf is building her Hip Hop cred by as she put it on Twitter, “catching up with two legends”.

But, to be sure, Libby didn’t just hang with the rappers..

This was at The Big 3 Basketball Tournament, Friday night at Oracle Arena. But what’s The Big 3 Basketball Tournament?

Just What Is The Big 3?

The Big 3 Basketball Tournament is a kind of cross between the NBA and street ball. Established January 11th 2017, the league takes, for the most part, retired NBA stars like Barron Davis, Mike Bibby, Jermaine O’Neill (and some even more legendary NBA greats like Gary Payton, Rick Barry, Nancy Lieberman, and George Gervin as coaches), and pits them against each other in a traveling road-show game of 3-on-3. The rules for The Big 3 are unique to the league, very different from those for FIFA.

The Big 3 was created by Ice Cube, who paired with Jeff Kwatinetz, his Chief Operating Officer with CubeVision, Cube’s film and television production company located in Santa Monica. Former Oakland Raiders Chief Executive Officer Amy Trask serves as the Chairman of The Board.

The Oakland Oracle Arena “The Big 3” Basketball Tournament event was week 3 in the inaugural season of the sports entertainment league, which played the first two games in Houston and Chicago respectively.

According to the schedule, this set of games in Oakland, on Friday night, was it for the Bay Area. Then, it’s on to Detroit, next Miami, Toronto, Boston, Atlanta, Dallas, and The Big 3 Championship in Brooklyn, New York, set for August 24th. (See the schedule, here.)

As for who is on what team, here’s the breakdown, below.

3’s Company (coach) Michael Cooper DerMarr Johnson (captain)
Baron Davis (co-captain)
Drew Gooden (co-captain)
Andre Emmett
Jason Maxiell
Derrick Byars

3 Headed Monsters (coach) Gary Payton Rashard Lewis (captain)
Reggie Evans (co-captain)
Damien Wilkins (co-captain)
Kwame Brown
Mahmoud Abdul-Rauf
Salim Stoudamire

Ball Hogs (coach) Rick Barry Brian Scalabrine (captain)
Josh Childress (co-captain)
DeShawn Stevenson (co-captain)
Andre Owens
Corsley Edwards
Jermaine Taylor

Ghost Ballers (coach) George Gervin Mike Bibby (captain)
Ricky Davis (co-captain)
Carlos Boozer (co-captain)
Lee Nailon
Marcus Banks
Mario West

Killer 3s (coach) Charles Oakley Chauncey Billups (captain)
Stephen Jackson (co-captain)
Metta World Peace (co-captain)
Alan Anderson
Ryan Hollins
Mike James

Power (coach) Nancy Lieberman Corey Maggette (captain)
Cuttino Mobley (co-captain)
Glen Davis (co-captain)
Chris Andersen
Quentin Richardson
Ryan Gomes

Trilogy (coach) Rick Mahorn Kenyon Martin (captain)
Al Harrington (co-captain)
Rashad McCants (co-captain)
James White
Dion Glover
Dahntay Jones

Tri-State (coach) Julius Erving Jermaine O’Neal (captain)
Nate Robinson (co-captain)
Amar’e Stoudemire
David Hawkins
Robert Hite
Bonzi Wells

As for who won? Former Golden State Warriors great Barron Davis’ 3’s Company and former Brooklyn (when they were New Jersey) Nets star Kenyon Martin’s Trilogy emerged victorious. The full recap is on The Big 3 website, here.

Stay tuned.

Oakland News Now Recent Posts

Oakland News Online Links From Oakland's Only News Aggregator Blog

Oakland News Now Archives

Oakland News Now - SF Bay Area, East Bay, California, World